Athletics NZ weekly round up

Grand Prix Meeting, Mt Smart Stadium – 9 March 2013
Olympian hockey player Anita Punt continued to impress with her sprinting ability, moving out to the 400m for the first time to equal the fastest women’s time in the country this year of 54.95s. Punt was competing at the national grand prix meeting on Saturday and for good measure she came back later in the day to win the 200m in 24.47s.
The 25 year old said that the 400m was hard, but it was good to get one out there.
“It was my first ever, so I really didn’t know what to expect. It was sort of like a training run for me as I have just got back from Argentina from hockey so it blew a bit of the cobwebs out,” said Punt.
“I had a little bit of a trip at the 200m mark but I managed to re-gather and keep going. At this stage I’ll stick with the 100m and 200m at the nationals as I’d like to do well in those two events and then maybe next year see if I do all three events,” she added.
Zoe Ballantyne was second to Punt in 55.93s with Lucy Jacobs third in a PB 57.58s.
Tama Toki won the men’s 400m in 47.75s from 16 year old national secondary schools champion Tom Smith of Hamilton who ran his best ever time of 48.33s, fractionally outside the 48.20s required to qualify for the world youth championships. Bailey Stewart was next in a PB 48.43s ahead of Scott McLaren in also a PB 48.77s. Portia Bing won the 100m hurdles in 14.28s and the long jump with 5.80m (+3.0). Katie Wright took out the 1500m in 4m 27.97s and Matt Baxter recorded 8m 29.30s in the 3000m. Nicole Bradley set a personal best hammer throw of 57.78m to hold her fifth spot on the New Zealand all time list. Phillip Wyatt won the triple jump with 14.29m (+2.4) also 14.13m (+0.9). Jenni Scott was out to 11.33m (+0.3) in the triple. The ANZ GP North team narrowly won the 4 x 400m relay in 3m 18.40s from the South team 3m 18.82s and the North won the women’s relay in 3m 56.89s from the South 4m 8.24s.

Round the Bays 8.4km Run – 10 March 2013
Jono Jackson made it two years in a row, heading in over 50,000 other runners, in the annual Round the Bays 8.4km fun run yesterday.
In a fast run Jackson finally broke clear of Wellington’s Rees Buck 200m from the finish and went on to record a time of 26m 39s. Buck was five seconds back in second with national marathon champion Tony Payne third in 27m 7s. The 2011 winner Scott Winton was fourth in 27m 59s.
Jackson who has a best of 26m 18s in 2010, said it was full on all the way.
“Last year was more tactical, this race was from the gun just going hard the whole way with Tony Payne taking it to us,” he said.
Buck, who has won the Wellington equivalent Round the Bays, said he was up from Wellington visiting a mate and decided to take part.
“It is a bit of fun and I’m enjoying the Auckland weather. I’m just coming back to fitness and it’s been a while since I’ve been in really good shape. My intention was to sit in with the front guys as long as I could. Jono made a couple of bursts within the last couple of ks to see if I’d hold on. Then about 200m out he took off and it was too fast for me, but he pushed me into a pretty solid time that was the main thing,” said Buck.
Texan Becky Wade was the first woman in a fast 28m 59s. The 24 year old is on a fellowship year, after graduating, travelling the world studying running cultures.
“I heard that this was a big event, so I just put the running shoes on and went for it,” she said.
Wade will compete in the 1500m and the 5000m at the New Zealand championships in two weeks and the Queen Street mile on Easter Monday.
Penny Peskett was second in 29m 15s with Nicola O’Ceallaigh a distant third in 33m 12s.

Waikato Bay of Plenty meeting, Tauranga Domain – 9 March 2013
Sally Gibbs W49 3000m in 10m 5.44s, ten seconds outside her personal best.

Manawatu Wanganui Championships, Massey University – 9 March 2013
Ben Langton-Burnell followed up his recent official world record mobile phone throw of 120.64m to win the javelin throw with 67.99m.
Ashleigh Sando in the W20 won five events, 100m 13.20s (+2.1), 100m hurdles 15.28s (+1.5), LJ 5.50m (+1.9), TJ 10.96m (-0.2) and HJ 1.60m. Andy Kruy won the 100m in 10.73s (+1.8) and the LJ 7.01m (+1.5). Zac Topping was second in the 100m in 10.94s and won the 200m in 22.03s (+0.3). Quinn Hartley U/18 200m 23.75s (+0.1), 400m 51.52s and 300m H 40.93s. Scott Thomson TJ 14.78m (-2.0) and Jordan Peters U/20 TJ 13.32m (-2.9).

Otago Centre Meeting, Caledonian Ground – 9 March 2013
National M20 400m champion Andrew Whyte goes to number one in the country this season over 400m after winning in 47.10s from Stephen Isaac 50.59s.
In the Otago 5000m championship former national half marathon champion Oska Inkster-Baynes won in 14m 44.82s from Pat Meffan 14m 50.31s and Nathan Baxter 14m 52.62s. Todd Bates won the 6kg HT with a throw of 46.63m. Tori Peeters won the W19 600g javelin throw with 43.84m.

Pakuranga 5km, 4 March: Nick Pannett 17m 9s, Quinn Wallwork 17m 39s, Damian Brannigan 18m 42s. Sarah Blyde 21m 13s.
O’Hagan’s Viaduct 5km, 5 March: Scott Winton 15m 52s, Sasha Daniels 16m 23s, Damian Clarke 16m 27s. Claire Macky 19m 3s.
Rat Race 5km, Takapuna, 6 March: Peter May 17m 15s, Cory Rix 18m 4s, Dan Finlayson 18m 22s.

Eastside Riverpath 5km, 5 March: Jai Davies-Campbell 16m 1s, John Crane 17m 8s, Kent Hodgson 17m 50s. Helen Rountree 3rd overall in 17m 50s.

Smiths Sports Shoes Everyone’s 5km, 7 March: Ben Ruthe 17m 37s, Roger Creighton 17m 45s, Lucas Fairweather 18m 42s.

Lifestyle Sports Waterfront 5km Series, 5 March: Martin Van Barneveld 15m 32s, Andy Ford 16m 52s, Michiel Kallenberg 16m 56s. Nicole Mitchell 18m 17s, Hinano Sefesi 19m 4s. Walk Fraser Samson 31m 51s.

Waimea Vineyard 5km Summer Series
, 6 March, Gladstone Road: Simon Leaning 17m 51s, Charlie Squance 18m 27s, Hayden Squance 18m 45s.

 Championships, 1/3 March: Tom Walsh SP 19.63m 1st. Thomas Currie 3km St 9m 19.04s 4th. Ni’ia Hothersall 800m 2m 11.22s 6th. Sarah McSweeney 3km St 10m 25.43s 1st. Nneka Okpala TJ 12.70s (+2.3) 1st.

NSW Championships, 1/3 March: Brad Mathas 800m 1m 50.58s 3rd. Tim Cornish 1500m 3m 52.26s 5th, Evan Cooper 3m 52.52s 6th. Madison Gipson 100m H 14.20s (-0.5) 2nd.

Papakura stalwart and national and local official starter for over 40 years Alf Insley died on Friday 8 March 2013 aged 88.
His distinctive style will be remembered by many an athlete who have gone to their marks during the period he officiated.
Alf was the chief starter at the 1990 Auckland Commonwealth Games, an appointment he was extremely proud of.
He was made a life member of the Papakura Athletic and Harrier Club in 1976 and he was president of the Club during the 1980’s.
He received an Athletics Auckland merit award in 1988 and he was awarded an Athletics New Zealand merit award in 1998.
Alf’s daughter Tracey Insley, currently administration manager at Gymsport and Recreation Centre in Papakura, was treasurer at the Papakura Athletic Club for a number of years and his son Greg has followed in his footsteps as an official starter. His funeral service will be held this Thursday at Fountains Memorial Chapel, Corner Elliot and Wood Streets, Papakura at 1.30pm.
Murray McKinnon
Athletics Correspondent
Athletics New Zealand

Leave A Comment?